#2303

If I were to ever see you again,
I wonder what we would say.

Would you avoid my begging eyes
the same way I long to avoid small talk?
Would you face what we have both
tried to leave behind for years?
I promise not to ask about work if you do not.
I promise not to ask about exes if you do not.
Let us cut to the highly anticipated chase.

One of us would have to break the silence.
How brave that person would be.
My knees would shake,
knowing that this exchange will not be easy.
We were supposed to look like affection,
not misplaced nostalgia that hits us like a tsunami.

Please do not ask me how I have been.
I would not know where to begin,
nor would I wish to know how this will end
as we say goodbye to each other yet again.

If you are to open your mouth, please.
Please use it to tell me you will stay for good this time.
Let us pretend that a farewell can only be uttered once.

To hear it twice would be unbearable.

One thought on “#2303

  1. I love this part “Please do not ask me how I have been.
    I would not know where to begin,
    nor would I wish to know how this will end
    as we say goodbye to each other yet again.” Those are the words I wish I could have said a couple days ago 🙂

Leave a Reply

