#1613

Why didn’t you say goodbye?
you asked, confused and
slightly hurt. I responded,
Each part of my body has
said its farewell to you over time.

My hands kissed yours as
your fingers parted from mine.
My lips missed yours, as it had
memorized your name so long ago.

My eyes chose to look upon
the ground for eternity before
it would ever gaze upon another
man’s face with as much affection.

My throat houses a lump each time
thoughts of you cross my mind, the
same mind that is slowly – hesitantly –
wiping away all traces of you.

I do not have a choice in this.

Leave a Reply

